Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • Information for journalists

    Please send your enquiries to the Press Division at the Federal Foreign Office. You can contact us by phone on +49 (30) 1817 2056 or by email at diplo%27%de,presse.

    Federal Foreign Office Information Service

    It is not possible to film in the reading room of the Political Archive. Unlike media documents, the archive material are not tagged. Therefore it is only possible to search for specific people, place names or topics in individual cases. The details of specific archive searches based on administrative competences and filing plans can be found in our tutorials.

  • Information for users coming from abroad

    The Federal Foreign Office cannot issue invitations to visit the Archive to be presented to agencies of your country of origin or to support visa applications. Please be aware that archive material from the 19th and early 20th centuries is partly or entirely hand-written in old German script (Kurrent). You can find courses in Kurrent handwriting online.

    Get started reading Kurrent script

  • Information for exam candidates and doctoral students

    Before sending your enquiry please inform yourself of the administrative responsibilities of German archives. The Archives School Marburg maintains a list of all state and non-state archives in Germany.

    German archives online

    The archive cannot supply bibliographical information or publicly available information such as speeches, newspaper articles, legislation, treaty texts or documents from archive publications.

    Please keep a precise record of the reference code of the archive material viewed. The Archive cannot retrospectively identify unassigned documents for you, even if your submission deadline is approaching.

  • Information for genealogists

    You can only expect to find archive material relating to your genealogy if your ancestors worked in the Foreign Service or, as a German national, had direct or indirect contact with the Foreign Office or the relevant mission abroad due to a stay in another country.

    Please be aware that the records do not contain civil status records, it is not possible for the Archive to carry out in-depth genealogical research, and personal records (e.g. personnel files) can only be accessed 30 years after the death or 110 years after the birth of the person in question.

    Biographies of persons who served in the higher service prior to 1945 can be found in the “Biographisches Handbuch des deutschen Auswärtigen Dienstes” [Biographical Handbook on the German Foreign Service].

    Selceted bibliography

    Personal papers are held in the Federal Archives’ central database of personal papers.

    Database of personal papers

  • How do I prepare to undertake my research at the Political Archive?

    Read our tutorials and the section “Visiting the Political Archive” on this website. We will be happy to answer questions on specific problems in as much as staff capacity allows

    Visiting the Political Archive

    Tutorials

  • How can I apply to use the archive?

    Please use our contact form. The first time you visit the reading room please fill in the written application form which you can obtain from the reading room staff.

    Contact form

  • Should I reserve a work station in the reading room?

    Absolutely, space is limited! We recommend that you make a reservation three weeks in advance. Provided that your application to use the Archives has already been approved you can use the contact form to reserve a work station and order files in advance.

    Reserve a work station (only possible once your application to use the Political Archive has been approved)

  • What form of ID/written confirmation do I need to bring?

    You need a valid identification document (personal ID card or passport) which you will exchange for a visitor’s pass at the entrance.

  • Where is the reading room?

    At Kurstraße 36 in Berlin Mitte, near the underground station Hausvogteiplatz.

    Practical information

  • What do I need to be aware of when working in the reading room?

    Please note the Regulations for Users of the Political Archive and of the Reading Room and follow the staff’s instructions. Eating, drinking, speaking loudly and making phone calls are strictly forbidden, as is making any form of changes to the material. Breach of these regulations may result in exclusion from use of the Political Archive.

    Regulations for Users of the Political Archive

    Regulations for Users of the Reading Room

  • Can I use my laptop in the reading room?

    Yes, plug sockets are available but please note that there is no Wi-Fi or general internet access. Nonetheless we do have one computer with which you can access the internet.

  • Am I allowed to take pictures of archive files with my digital camera?

    Yes but only if you do not use the flash or make any disruptive sounds. You are not allowed to use single-lens reflex cameras or your own scanner. Items such as padded strip weights and foam wedges are available from the reading room staff. These aids will help you to deal correctly with the archive material.

  • Is there a charge for use of or enquiries to the Political Archive?

    Using the finding aids and the archives in the reading room is entirely free of charge. There is no fee for undertaking research or making enquiries. You will only be charged when you put in a request in the reading room for photocopies which are carried out by external companies.

    Reproductions

  • How do I use the finding aids to search through the holdings?

    Please read our tutorials. The reading room staff will be happy to explain how to use the finding aids. The archivists are available to answer specific questions in as far as staff capacity allows.

    Tutorials

  • Which archive material can I look at and which not?

    Files which are more than 30 years old are generally openly accessible. Newer files cannot be used. For personal records such as personnel files, the protective period can last significantly longer and usually does not end until 30 years after the death of the person in question. Under certain circumstances files can be viewed before their protective period expires. The archivists can provide you with further information. Upon request and in well-founded cases an exception can be made and protective periods curtailed. Access to classified records is not allowed.

    Legal basis

  • How do I order archive material and how many files can I use at a time?

    Archive material can be ordered electronically in the reading room. Please ask a staff member to register you so that you can use the system. You can order ten files and ten microfiches per day. Please note that restrictions may apply depending on the condition of the material. The archive material ordered by users are collected from the stacks at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. from Monday to Thursday, and at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. on Friday. You can collect them in the reading room about an hour later.

  • Are there other archives where I can find Federal Foreign Office files?

    Some of the records are held in the Federal Archives at its locations in Berlin Lichterfelde and Koblenz.

    Other Archives (in German)

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

User and staff member in the reading room

Federal Foreign Office

Main website of the Federal Foreign Office

Häufig gefragt (FAQ)

  • Kann ich mich online über die Bestände informieren?

    Eine Gesamtübersicht aller Archivbestände des Politischen Archivs mit detaillierten Informationen steht beim Archivportal Europa online.

    Bestände

  • Informationen für Journalisten

    Bitte stellen Sie Ihre Anfrage beim Pressereferat des Auswärtigen Amts. Sie erreichen dieses telefonisch unter +49 (30) 1817-2056 oder per E-Mail unter diplo%27%de,presse.

    Infoservice des Auswärtigen Amts

    Dreharbeiten im Lesesaal des Politischen Archivs sind nicht möglich.

    Im Gegensatz zu Mediendokumentationen sind die Archivalien nicht verschlagwortet. Eine direkte Recherche nach Personen- und Ortsnamen oder Sachthemen ist deshalb nur in Einzelfällen möglich. Die archivspezifische Suche anhand von Verwaltungszuständigkeit und Aktenplan erläutern unsere Rechercheleitfäden.

  • Informationen für ausländische Benutzer

    Das Auswärtige Amt kann keine Einladungen zu Archivbesuchen zur Vorlage bei Stellen Ihres Heimatlandes oder zur Beantragung eines Visums aussprechen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Archivalien des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts ganz oder teilweise handschriftlich in deutscher Schreibschrift (Kurrent) verfasst sind. Kurse in Kurrentschrift finden Sie auch online.

    Erste Schritte im Lesen des Kurrent

  • Informationen für Examenskandidaten und Doktoranden

    Bitte informieren Sie sich vor einer Anfrage über die Zuständigkeiten im deutschen Archivwesen. Die Archivschule Marburg unterhält eine Liste aller staatlichen und vieler nichtstaatlicher Archive in Deutschland.

    Deutsche Archive im Internet

    Das Archiv kann weder bibliographische Informationen noch öffentlich verfügbare Informationen wie Reden, Presseartikel, Gesetzes- und Vertragstexte oder in Editionen veröffentlichte Dokumente bereitstellen.

    Um Ihren Aufenthalt bestens zu nutzen, sollten Sie sich zuvor anhand der Beständeübersicht gründlich darüber informieren, welche Quellen Sie im Politischen Archiv erwarten können.

    Beständeübersicht

    Bitte protokollieren Sie genau die Archivsignaturen der ausgewerteten Archivalien. Im Nachhinein nicht mehr zuweisbare Dokumente kann das Archiv nicht für Sie identifizieren, auch nicht bei nahendem Abgabetermin Ihrer Arbeit.

  • Informationen für Genealogen

    Archivalien für Ihre genealogischen Forschungen sind generell nur dann zu erwarten, wenn Ihr Vorfahre Angehöriger des Auswärtigen Dienstes war oder wegen eines Aufenthalts im Ausland als Deutscher direkt oder indirekt mit dem Auswärtigen Amt oder dessen Auslandsvertretungen in Kontakt gekommen ist.

    Bitte beachten Sie, dass in den Beständen keine Personenstandsunterlagen zu erwarten sind, ausführliche genealogische Recherchen vom Archiv nicht geleistet werden können und das personenbezogenes Archivgut (z. B. Personalakten) in der Regel erst 10 Jahre nach dem Tod der betroffenen Person eingesehen werden kann.

    Für die Erforschung der Biographie eines Angehörigen des höheren Dienstes vor 1945 können Sie auf das Biographische Handbuch des deutschen Auswärtigen Dienstes zurückgreifen.

    Bibliographie

    Nachlässe werden in der zentralen Nachlassdatenbank des Bundesarchivs nachgewiesen.

    Nachlassdatenbank

  • Wie bereite ich meinen Forschungsaufenthalt vor?

    Studieren Sie unsere Rechercheleitfäden und die Rubrik „Archivbesuch“ auf dieser Website. Anfragen zu Spezialproblemen werden gern in dem Maß beantwortet, das der Dienstbetrieb zulässt.

    Archivbesuch

    Rechercheleitfäden

  • Wie stelle ich einen Benutzungsantrag?

    Bitte benutzen Sie unser Kontaktformular. Den schriftlichen Antrag füllen Sie dann bitte bei Ihrem ersten Besuch im Lesesaal aus. Sie erhalten ihn bei der Aufsicht.

    Kontakt

  • Sollte ich mir einen Arbeitsplatz im Lesesaal reservieren lassen?

    Unbedingt, denn die Kapazität ist begrenzt! Es empfiehlt sich ein Vorlauf von drei Wochen. Sofern Ihr Benutzungsantrag bereits genehmigt wurde, können Sie für Platzreservierungen und Aktenvorbestellungen das Kontaktformular benutzen.

    Platzreservierung (nur nach Genehmigung des Benutzungsantrags möglich)

  • Welche Ausweise/ Bescheinigungen muss ich mitbringen?

    Sie benötigen ein gültiges Ausweisdokument (Personalausweis oder Reisepass), gegen das Sie an der Pforte einen Hausausweis erhalten.

  • Wo finde ich den Lesesaal?

    In der Kurstraße 36 in Berlin-Mitte, nahe dem U-Bahnhof Hausvogteiplatz.

    Praktische Hinweise

  • Was muss ich bei der Arbeit im Lesesaal beachten?

    Beachten Sie die Benutzungs- und die Lesesaalordnung und befolgen Sie die Anweisungen der Aufsicht. Insbesondere Essen, Trinken, laute Unterhaltungen und das Telefonieren sind untersagt, ebenso Veränderungen an den vorgelegten Archivalien in jeder Form. Verstöße können zum Ausschluss von der Benutzung führen.

    Benutzungsordnung

    Lesesaalordnung

  • Kann ich meinen Laptop im Lesesaal benutzen?

    Ja, es stehen Stromanschlüsse zur Verfügung, allerdings kein WLAN oder Internetzugang. Es steht jedoch ein Internet-PC bereit.

  • Darf ich mit meiner Digitalkamera Aufnahmen von Archivalien machen?

    Ja, aber ohne Blitzlicht und störende Geräusche. Die Benutzung von Spiegelreflexkameras und mitgebrachten Scannern ist ebenfalls nicht erlaubt. Hilfsmittel wie Bleischlangen und Keilkissen zum sachgemäßen Ausrichten der Archivalien erhalten Sie bei der Lesesaalaufsicht.

  • Fallen für die Benutzung oder für Auskünfte Gebühren an?

    Die Benutzung von Findmitteln und Archivgut im Lesesaal des Politischen Archivs ist grundsätzlich kostenlos. Für Recherchen und Auskünfte werden keine Gebühren erhoben. Gebührenpflichtig sind allein Kopieraufträge, die im Lesesaal in Auftrag gegeben werden können und von externen Unternehmen ausgeführt werden.

    Reproduktionen

  • Wie arbeite ich mit den Findmitteln zu den Beständen?

    Bitte studieren Sie unsere Rechercheleitfäden. Den praktischen Umgang mit den Findmitteln erläutert Ihnen gern die Lesesaalaufsicht. Für spezielle Fragen stehen Ihnen im Rahmen des Dienstbetriebs auch die zuständigen Archivare zur Verfügung.

    Rechercheleitfäden

  • Welche Archivalien kann ich einsehen, welche nicht?

    In der Regel können Akten frei benutzt werden, die älter als 30 Jahre sind. Jüngere Akten sind für die Benutzung gesperrt. Bei personenbezogenem Schriftgut, z. B. Personalakten, kann die Schutzfrist wesentlich länger dauern und erlischt in der Regel erst 10 Jahre nach dem Tod der betroffenen Person. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen können auch Akten mit Sperrfristen eingesehen werden. Die Archivarinnen und Archivare beraten Sie hierbei. Schutzfristen können in begründeten Ausnahmen auf Antrag verkürzt werden. Die Benutzung von Schriftgut, das Geheimhaltungsvorschriften unterliegt, ist nicht zulässig.

    Gesetzesgrundlagen

  • Wie bestelle ich Archivalien und wie viele kann ich gleichzeitig benutzen?

    Im Lesesaal steht Ihnen ein elektronisches Bestellsystem zur Verfügung, für dessen Benutzung Sie die Aufsicht anmeldet. Sie können je zehn Akten und Mikrofiches pro Tag bestellen, wobei sich aus der Beschaffenheit der Archivalien Einschränkungen ergeben können. Bestellte Archivalien werden von Montag bis Donnerstag um 10 Uhr und um 14 Uhr, am Freitag um 10 Uhr und um 13 Uhr ausgehoben und stehen jeweils ca. eine Stunde später für Sie bereit.

  • Gibt es weitere Archive, in denen ich Akten des Auswärtigen Amts finden kann?

    Ein Teil der Überlieferung befindet sich im Bundesarchiv an dessen Standorten in Berlin-Lichterfelde und Koblenz.

    Andere Archive

Häufig gefragt (FAQ)

Anmeldung und Archivalienausgabe am Tresen

Auswärtiges Amt

Zur zentralen Internetpräsenz des Auswärtigen Amts