History of the Political Archive and its holdings

Today, the Political Archive stores archive material covering over 26 linear kilometres. The structure of the record groups as well as a certain number of gaps in the records result from the Archive’s own eventful history since 1920. A basic understanding of this history is very important when planning archival research and critically analysing sources.

Establishing and setting up the Archive (19201936)

After the First World War, the Foreign Office was radically restructured. As part of this reform, named after the then head of staff at the Foreign Office, Schüler, a “Hauptarchiv” [main archive] was set up to store the files from the departments which had been closed down. The second founding feature of the Archive was the drafting of the edition “Die deutschen Dokumente zum Kriegsausbruch” (The German Documents on the Outbreak of War).

On 3 August 1920, the Hauptarchiv commenced its operations in the official premises at Wilhelmstrasse 75. Since 1924 it has been known as the Political Archive. This marked the beginning of the Foreign Office tradition of maintaining its own archives, independently of the archive set up by the German Empire (Reich) in 1919. It was first headed by Hermann Meyer (1883 - 1943), who had previously worked at the Prussian Secret State Archives. He put together a list of sources for the Foreign Office files which is still used today.

Independently of the Archive, but in close technical cooperation with it, a so-called “Guilt Division” was set up with the aim of analysing the historical and propagandist aspect of the issue of war guilt. This is where the first comprehensive edition of Foreign Office archive material was compiled, entitled “Die Große Politik der Europäischen Kabinette” [“The Grand Politics of the European Cabinets”].

When it was founded in 1870, the Foreign Office maintained the archives of the Prussian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Files which were no longer needed were occasionally handed over to the Prussian Secret State Archives. In 1921, following the establishment of the Political Archive, a division of responsibilities was adopted which stipulated that all files which had been closed prior to 1 January 1867 were to be kept in the Prussian Secret State Archives, whilst newer files were to be stored in the Political Archive.

The body of the files contained in the Political Archive is comprised of 20,000 volumes of files from the closed registry of the former Political Directorate-General (I A), the central office and the telegram office. Bit by bit, files from the “non-political” divisions and missions abroad were also added to the Archive. Due to a lack of storage space however, in 1930 “non-political” archive files from the period up to 1918 were also deposited in the Reich Archives, specifically files from:

  • the Consular Directorate (I C)
  • the Trade Policy Division (II)
  • the former Legal Directorate-General (III)

In addition to this, from the outset the Reich Archives contained files from the Colonial Division (IV) which had been reopened as an independent office of the Empire (Reich) in 1907.

Related literature: Meyer 1920; Philippi 1959; Kröger 2012.

Selected bibliography

Evacuation and losses incurred during the war (19361945)

In 1936, during the Nazi dictatorship the “Guilt Division” was merged with the Political Archive and since then the archive has also served as a “historical division”. During the Second World War, the Political Archive was involved in raids of the archives of other countries’ foreign ministries which took place up to summer 1940. The seized files were all returned, at the latest by the end of the war.

1936 saw a further organisational reform, followed by the mass handover of files from the missions abroad in light of the danger of war following the annexation of the Sudetenland in 1938. This saturated the capacity of the Political Archive and forced more archive material to be transferred to the Reich Archives.

In 1943, archive director Johannes Ulrich (1902 – 1965), who had close ties to the national conservative resistance, initiated the process of evacuating the holdings of the Political Archive to palaces in the Harz mountains. The holdings that were moved included all documentation for the period up to 1920 and most of the material from 1920 to 1936. However, as they were being transported a large part of the classified files and parts of the documents from this period belonging to the Cultural Directorate-General were burned in a fire due to an accident.

Most of the files from the period from 1936 onwards which had still been needed for business ongoing in 1943 fell victim to bombs or, in the last few months of the war, deliberate destruction of Foreign Office premises.  The losses cannot be precisely described – however,  they affected in particular:

  • files from the Political Directorate-General on countries with which the German Empire still maintained diplomatic relations in 1943
  • files from the Office of the Reich Minister (which in any case have been partly preserved on microfilm)
  • personnel files of officials still active in 1943

The evacuation sites of the Political Archive were not directly impacted by the war. In April 1945 the order was given to destroy the classified files, but the archivists working at the relevant locations delayed carrying it out, meaning losses were minimal. In the end predominantly archive material of the following provenance were incinerated:

  • Political Directorate-General I Military
  • Trade Policy Division
  • the Embassy in Paris

Related literature: Hansen 1996; Kröger and Thimme 1999; Grupp 2002.

Selected bibliography

Safeguarding and return of archive material (19451951)

The Western Allies salvaged the contents of the Political Archive stored in other locations, amalgamated them with Foreign Office files found in Berlin as well as material from other sources (including the Reich Chancellery) and transferred them to Whaddon Hall in Great Britain in 1948. A selection from the archives were filmed and it is still possible to request duplicates of the films from the United States National Archives. The Oxford and Kent catalogues were compiled using the collection of material available with the help of old descriptive lists, and they served as the primary finding aids for the records until 1945. Eventually, work began on the edition “Akten zur deutschen auswärtigen Politik 1918–1945” (ADAP) [“Files on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945”].

Overall, the Foreign Office archive material stored in the Reich Archives did not suffer any major war losses. The archives were safeguarded by the Soviet Union along with segments of the remaining office files from Foreign Office premises in Berlin and elsewhere, and they were transferred to the German Central Archives in Potsdam up to 1960. Remains of this archive material from the former Legal Directorate-General are still in the Special Archive of the Russian State Military Archive in Moscow or have gone missing.

In 1951, the Western Allies gave the Federal Republic of Germany the personnel and budget files which were needed in order to set up the new Federal Foreign Office. The Political Archive was reinstated as a division in order to to enable these files to be archived. By 1959, the remaining archive material had been transported to Bonn on the basis of an agreement concluded in 1956, and since then they have been fully accessible for research purposes. German historians participated, on an equal footing, in running the ADAP publication project.

The files of missions abroad left behind after 1938 had been either destroyed or confiscated by their host country when war broke out against Germany and/or at the end of the war. Nearly all of the files impounded since 1951 were returned, but the records offices of some missions abroad are still located in institutions belonging to foreign countries.

Related literature: Philippi 1960; Schmid 1962; Thimme 2001; Eckert 2004.

Selected bibliography

Two foreign policy archives (19512000)

After 1951 the Political Archive initially served as a selective archive which sought to store only files from the new Federal Foreign Office which were truly worthy of being retained. Just as in 1920, the systematic collection of material to be archived began with files from the political directorates-general. In order to fully unburden the registries of old files, a separate registry was set up and it was not merged with the Political Archive until 1968. Previously, due to space constraints, it had primarily destroyed files from the early 1950s from country divisions within the Economic Directorates-General.

The records centre was set up in 1972 as a comprehensive repository in which all files submitted from Germany are stored before being processed and allocated to the archive which corresponded to their provenance. A second comprehensive repository was set up for the archive material from the missions abroad. Work on processing the contents of the final archive began in earnest in the 1980s. In connection with this, the files from the Zentrale Rechtsschutzstelle [central legal protection office], which had been part of the Federal Foreign Office from 1953 to 1970, were handed over to the Federal Archives.

The edition of ADAP was concluded in 1995. At the same time, on behalf of the Federal Foreign Office, the Munich/Berlin Institute of Contemporary History (IfZ) started publishing the “Akten zur Auswärtigen Politik der Bundesrepublik Deutschland” [Files on the Foreign Policy of the Federal Republic of Germany – “AAPD”]. This annual publication presents the events which took place 30 years previously, the first edition on the year 1963 was released in 1993.

In 1951, an administrative archive to temporarily store files was set up in the Ministerium für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten der DDR [Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the GDR – “MfAA”]. It obtained the status of “Endarchiv” [final archive], independent of the GDR’s state archive administration in 1966. Ultimately, the archive became responsible for:

  • open files from the MfAA headquarters and missions abroad
  • formerly classified files opened for public use
  • interministerial agreements between the GDR and other countries

The personnel files and still-classified files were archived in other MfAA locations, GDR state treaties were stored at the Council of Ministers of the GDR. Following the unification of Germany, the Federal Foreign Office’s Agency for winding up the GDR Foreign Service merged these holdings with the MfAA archive and kept them in the depot building of the armoury in Berlin. The destruction or alienation of files in the last months of the GDR means there are gaps in the records for the late 1980s, in particular amongst files concerning the top echelons of the MfAA.

Move and consolidation (since 2000)

When the Federal Foreign Office moved in 2000, the Political Archive accompanied it from Bonn to Berlin. The stacks set up in the new headquarters in the former Reichsbank building on Kurstrasse store archive holdings from the Foreign Office and the MfAA, as well as documentation on the construction of the Reichsbank.

The sub-groups stored in the GDR’s German Central Archives were taken over by the Federal Archives in 1990. An archive exchange in 2008 facilitated a clearer overview of the distribution of the holdings. Since then, the Federal Archives have held all archive material dated up to 1918 from the former Legal Directorate-General, as well as those from the Trade Policy Division from the years it was in operation (1867 – 1920, 1936 – 1945). Since then, the Political Archive has housed the entire collection of archive material from:

  • missions abroad
  • personnel and administrative divisions
  • country divisions (1920 – 1936)

Until a deadline rule was introduced on 1 January 2013, the Federal Republic of Germany’s classified files remained completely closed and could not be used. Nevertheless, since the first AAPD was compiled in 1993, a widely-used collection of copies of tens of thousands of de-restricted files (B 150 record group) has been developed. The classification period of restricted files of the German Empire and the GDR expired in 1945 and 1991.

Related literature: Biewer 2005; Walter 2009.

Selected bibliography

History

The Political Archive in the 1950s

Brochure "Das Politische Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts"

The brochure presents the Political Archive of the Federal Foreign Office and its diverse services.

Geschichte des Politischen Archivs und seiner Bestände

Das Politische Archiv verwahrt heute Archivalien im Umfang von 26 laufenden Kilometern. Die Struktur der Bestände und die Existenz von Überlieferungslücken sind auch das Ergebnis einer ereignisreichen Archivgeschichte seit 1920. Die Kenntnis dieser Geschichte in ihren Grundzügen ist für die Planung von Archivrecherchen und für die Quellenkritik sehr wichtig.

Gründung und Aufbau (19201936)

Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg wurde die Organisation des Auswärtigen Amts grundlegend umgestaltet. Ein Teil dieser „Schülerschen Reform“ war die Gründung eines „Hauptarchivs“, das die Akten der aufgelösten alten Abteilungen verwahren sollte. Die zweite Wurzel des Archivs war die Erarbeitung der Edition „Die deutschen Dokumente zum Kriegsausbruch“.

Am 3. August 1920 nahm das Hauptarchiv im Dienstgebäude Wilhelmstraße 75 seinen Betrieb auf; seit 1924 firmierte es als „Politisches Archiv“. Damit begann die eigenständige, vom 1919 gegründeten Reichsarchiv unabhängige Archivtradition des Auswärtigen Amts. Zum ersten Leiter wurde mit Hermann Meyer (1883–1943) ein Mitarbeiter des preußischen Geheimen Staatsarchivs bestellt. Er verfasste eine bis heute nicht ersetzte Quellenkunde zu den Akten des Auswärtigen Amts.

Unabhängig vom Archiv, aber in enger sachlicher Verbindung mit ihm wurde ein „Schuldreferat“ für die geschichtswissenschaftliche und propagandistische Auseinandersetzung mit der so genannten Kriegsschuldfrage eingerichtet. Hier wurde mit „Die Große Politik der Europäischen Kabinette“ die erste umfassende Edition aus Archivalien des Auswärtigen Amts erstellt.

Bei seiner Gründung 1870 führte das Auswärtige Amt die Aktenserien des preußischen Ministeriums der Auswärtigen Angelegenheiten fort. Nicht mehr benötigte Akten wurden gelegentlich an das Geheime Staatsarchiv abgegeben. Nach der Gründung des Politischen Archivs vereinbarte man 1921 eine Zuständigkeitsabgrenzung, der zufolge alle Akten, die vor dem 1. Januar 1867 abgeschlossen worden waren, im Geheimen Staatsarchiv und die jüngeren Akten im Politischen Archiv archiviert wurden.

Den Grundstock des Politischen Archivs bildeten 20 000 Aktenbände der alten Politischen Abteilung (I A) aus deren aufgelöster Registratur, dem Zentral- und Depeschenbüro. Nach und nach wurden auch Akten der „nichtpolitischen“ Abteilungen und der Auslandsvertretungen archiviert. Aus Platzmangel wurden um 1930 „nichtpolitische“ Archivalien aus der Zeit bis 1918 allerdings auch im Reichsarchiv deponiert, nämlich Akten der

  • Konsularunterabteilung (I C),
  • Handelspolitischen Abteilung (II),
  • Rechtsabteilung (III).

Von Anfang an im Reichsarchiv befanden sich die Akten der Kolonialabteilung (IV), die 1907 als unabhängiges Reichsamt ausgegliedert worden war.

Literatur: Meyer 1920; Philippi 1959; Kröger 2012.

Auswahlbibliographie

Evakuierungen und Kriegsverluste (19361945)

Unter der Nazi-Diktatur wurde das Schuldreferat 1936 mit dem Politischen Archiv zusammengelegt. Seitdem fungierte das Archiv auch als „Historisches Referat“. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg war das Politische Archiv bis in den Sommer 1940 hinein an Beutezügen in den Archiven fremder Außenministerien beteiligt. Die Beuteakten wurden spätestens mit dem Kriegsende zurückgeführt.

Eine weitere Organisationsreform im Jahre 1936 und massenhafte Aktenabgaben der Auslandsvertretungen angesichts der Kriegsgefahr im Zuge der Annexion des Sudetenlandes 1938 erschöpften die Kapazität des Politischen Archivs und erzwangen weitere Auslagerungen von Archivalien in das Reichsarchiv.

Der dem nationalkonservativen Widerstand nahestehende Archivleiter Johannes Ulrich (1902–1965) stieß 1943 die Evakuierung der Bestände des Politischen Archivs nach Schlössern im Harz an. Davon erfasst wurden die Gesamtüberlieferung aus der Zeit bis 1920 und der größte Teil der Archivalien aus den Jahren 1920 bis 1936. Durch einen Unfall beim Transport verbrannten allerdings aus diesem Überlieferungszeitraum ein Großteil der Verschlusssachen und Teile der Akten der Kulturabteilung.

Die Akten aus der Zeit ab 1936, die 1943 noch für laufende Dienstgeschäfte benötigt wurden, fielen weitestgehend dem Bombenkrieg oder, in den letzten Kriegsmonaten, bewusster Vernichtung an den Ausweichstandorten des Auswärtigen Amts zum Opfer. Die erlittenen Verluste lassen sich nur ungefähr eingrenzen. Sie betreffen insbesondere

  • Akten der Politischen Abteilung zu Ländern, mit denen das Deutsche Reich 1943 noch diplomatische Beziehungen unterhielt,
  • Akten des „Büros Reichsminister“ (die allerdings in Teilen auf Mikrofilm erhalten sind),
  • Personalakten der 1943 noch aktiven höheren Beamten.

Die Bergungsorte des Politischen Archivs blieben von unmittelbarer Kriegseinwirkung verschont. Im April 1945 wurde die Vernichtung der Verschlusssachen zwar befohlen, die Umsetzung von den dort eingesetzten Archivaren aber verzögert. Der Verlust blieb gering. Letztlich wurden insbesondere Archivalien folgender Provenienzen verbrannt:

  • Politische Abteilung I Militär,
  • Handelspolitische Abteilung,
  • Botschaft Paris.

Literatur: Hansen 1996; Kröger und Thimme 1999; Grupp 2002.

Auswahlbibliographie

Sicherstellung und Rückgabe (19451951)

Die ausgelagerten Bestände des Politischen Archivs wurden 1945 von den Westalliierten geborgen, mit in Berlin aufgefundenen Geschäftsakten des Auswärtigen Amts sowie Fremdprovenienzen (u. a. Reichskanzlei) vereinigt und 1948 nach Whaddon Hall in Großbritannien überführt. Die Archivalien wurden in Auswahl verfilmt; Duplikate der Filme können noch heute beim Nationalarchiv der USA erworben werden. Aus der Erfassung des Materials und anhand der alten Repertorien entstanden die „Oxford-“ und „Kent-Kataloge“ als Hauptfindmittel für die Überlieferung bis 1945. Schließlich wurde begonnen, die Edition „Akten zur deutschen auswärtigen Politik 1918–1945“ (ADAP) zu erarbeiten.

Die im Reichsarchiv deponierten Archivalien des Auswärtigen Amts erlitten insgesamt keine großen Kriegsverluste. Mit Splittern der in Berlin und an den Ausweichstandorten des Auswärtigen Amts verbliebenen Geschäftsakten wurden sie von der Sowjetunion sichergestellt und bis 1960 dem Deutschen Zentralarchiv in Potsdam übergeben. Reste dieser Archivalien der Rechtsabteilung befinden sich noch im Sonderarchiv des Staatlichen Militärarchivs in Moskau oder sind verschollen.

1951 übergaben die Westalliierten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zunächst Personal- und Haushaltsakten, die für den Aufbau des neuen Auswärtigen Amts benötigt wurden. Zur Archivierung dieser Akten wurde das Politische Archiv als Referat wiedereingerichtet. Die übrigen Archivalien wurden auf der Grundlage eines 1956 geschlossenen Abkommens bis 1959 nach Bonn überführt und stehen der Forschung seitdem uneingeschränkt offen. Das Editionsprojekt der ADAP wurde unter gleichberechtigter Teilnahme deutscher Historiker fortgesetzt.

Die nach 1938 vor Ort verbliebenen Akten der Auslandsvertretungen waren entweder vernichtet oder von den Gastländern beim Kriegseintritt gegen Deutschland bzw. zum Kriegsende sichergestellt worden. Die beschlagnahmten Akten wurden seit 1951 weitestgehend zurückgegeben, Registraturteile einiger Auslandsvertretungen befinden sich aber noch in ausländischen Institutionen.

Literatur: Philippi 1960; Schmid 1962; Thimme 2001; Eckert 2004.

Auswahlbibliographie

Zwei außenpolitische Archive (19512000)

Nach 1951 verstand sich das Politische Archiv zunächst als Auslesearchiv, das von den Geschäftsakten des neuen Auswärtigen Amts nur die eindeutig archivwürdigen übernehmen wollte. Wie 1920 wurde der Anfang der systematischen Überlieferungsbildung mit den Akten der Politischen Abteilungen gemacht. Zur durchgängigen Entlastung der Registraturen von Altakten wurde eine eigene „Reponierte Registratur“ gegründet, die erst 1968 dem Politischen Archiv angeschlossen wurde. Zuvor waren hier aus Platzmangel vor allem Akten der Länderreferate in der Wirtschaftsabteilung aus den frühen 1950er-Jahren kassiert worden.

1972 wurde das „Zwischenarchiv“ als zusammengefasster Bestand eingerichtet, in den seitdem sämtliche Aktenabgaben aus dem Inland einfließen, bis sie archivisch bearbeitet und dem ihrer Provenienz entsprechenden Bestand des Endarchivs zugeordnet werden. Für die Archivalien der Auslandsvertretungen wurde ein zweiter zusammengefasster Bestand eingerichtet. Die Bestandsbearbeitung im Endarchiv begann im großen Stil in den 1980er-Jahren. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden die Akten der Zentralen Rechtsschutzstelle, die dem Auswärtigen Amt von 1953 bis 1970 angegliedert war, an das Bundesarchiv abgegeben.

Die Edition der ADAP wurde 1995 abgeschlossen. Zeitgleich begann das Institut für Zeitgeschichte München/Berlin, im Auftrag des Auswärtigen Amts im Abstand von 30 Jahren zu den dokumentierten Ereignissen jährlich einen Jahrgangsband der „Akten zur Auswärtigen Politik der Bundesrepublik Deutschland“ (AAPD) zu veröffentlichen; 1993 erschien als erster Band der Jahrgang 1963.

Im Ministerium für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten (MfAA) der DDR wurde 1951 ein Verwaltungsarchiv zur temporären Aufbewahrung eingerichtet, das 1966 den Status eines von der Staatlichen Archivverwaltung der DDR unabhängigen Endarchivs erhielt. Zuletzt war das Archiv zuständig für

  • offen geführte Akten der Zentrale und der Auslandsvertretungen des MfAA,
  • offengelegte Verschlusssachen,
  • Ressortabkommen der DDR mit anderen Staaten.

Die Personalakten und die noch eingestuften Verschlusssachen wurden bei anderen Stellen im MfAA und die Staatsverträge der DDR beim Ministerrat archiviert. Diese Bestände wurden nach der Herstellung der Deutschen Einheit bei der Verwaltungs- und Abwicklungsstelle des Auswärtigen Amts mit dem MfAA-Archiv vereinigt und verblieben im Depotgebäude des Zeughauses in Berlin. Durch die Vernichtung oder Entfremdung von Akten in den letzten Monaten der DDR weist die Überlieferung für die späten 1980er-Jahre insbesondere für die Leitungsebene des MfAA Lücken auf.

Umzug und Konzentration (seit 2000)

Mit dem Umzug des Auswärtigen Amts wechselte 2000 auch das Politische Archiv von Bonn nach Berlin. In den Archivmagazinen des neuen Dienstsitzes in der Kurstraße, des ehemaligen Reichsbankgebäudes, wurden die Überlieferungen des Auswärtigen Amts, des MfAA sowie die Bauunterlagen der Reichsbank zusammengeführt.

Die im Zentralen Staatsarchiv der DDR eingelagerten Teilbestände waren 1990 vom Bundesarchiv übernommen wurden. Mit einem Archivalienaustausch wurden 2008 übersichtlichere Verhältnisse der Bestandsverteilung geschaffen. Das Bundesarchiv verwahrt seitdem alle Archivalien der Rechtsabteilung bis 1918 sowie diejenigen der Handelspolitischen Abteilung aus den Jahren ihres Bestehens (1867–1920, 1936–1945). Im Politischen Archiv befindet sich seitdem die gesamte Überlieferung der

  • Auslandsvertretungen,
  • Personal- und Verwaltungsabteilung,
  • Länderabteilungen (1920–1936).

Die Verschlusssachen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland blieben bis zur Einführung einer Fristenregelung zum 1. Januar 2013 für die Benutzung grundsätzlich gesperrt. Allerdings erwuchs schon seit 1993 aus der Erarbeitung der AAPD eine stark benutzte Sammlung von Kopien zehntausender offen gelegter Verschlusssachen (Bestand B 150). Die Einstufungen von Verschlusssachen des Deutschen Reiches und der DDR sind 1945 bzw. 1991 erloschen.

Literatur: Biewer 2005; Walter 2009.

Auswahlbibliographie

Geschichte

Das Politische Archiv in den 1950er Jahren

Archivführer "Das Politische Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts"

Die Broschüre stellt das Politische Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts und seine vielfältigen Dienstleistungen vor.