Practical information

Please watch the slide show on the right-hand side!

On the day of your visit

Before your visit, please find out about how and what you can research in the archive.

Tutorials

Enquiry to the Archive

The reading room of the Political Archive is located in the Federal Foreign Office building in Kurstraße 36.

Map

The Federal Foreign Office is a secure area. We kindly request your cooperation with the necessary security measures. After leaving a valid ID card or passport at reception, you will be issued with a visitor’s pass. Please go through the security check and follow the signs to the reading room. You may not bring coats, bags, food or drinks into the reading room. These items may be left in the lockers outside the reading room. Please note that you will need a €1 or €2 coin as a deposit.

If you lose the locker key, you will have to pay for the cost of a replacement.

Registration and reading room 

On arrival, please report to a reading room staff member, and fill out an application form for your visit. Our research guidelines will help you to use the finding aids. The reading room staff will be happy to help you with further questions and to arrange an appointment with the responsible archivist if necessary.

The reading room has 27 work stations, some of which are equipped with microfiche readers. There are sockets for laptops, but no wireless internet access. However, a computer with internet access is available.

The reading room also has a reference library on the history of German foreign policy. This mainly comprises publications by Political Archive users, series published by the Federal Foreign Office and reference material.

Ordering archive material

Archive material can be ordered electronically. Please ask a staff member to register you so that you can use the system. You can order ten files and ten microfiches per day. Please note that restrictions may apply depending on the condition of the material.

The archive material ordered by users are collected from the stacks at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. from Monday to Thursday, and at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. on Friday. You can collect them in the reading room around an hour later. Documents may not be borrowed, but can only be consulted in the reading room.

You may use your own camera to photograph the archive material, provided that you do so quietly and without using a flash. You are not allowed to use reflex cameras or your own scanner.

Working with archive materials

Every document is irreplaceable and must be treated with scrupulous care. You therefore have a responsibility to ensure that no document is soiled or written on, no part of it is removed, and no change is made in the order of any loose pages. Items such as padded strip weights and foam wedges are available from the reading room staff. These aids will help you to deal correctly with the archive materials.

Please note the Regulations for Users of the Political Archive and follow instructions by the reading room staff. It is not permitted to eat, drink, speak loudly or make telephone calls in the reading room. Breach of these regulations may result in exclusion from use of the Political Archive.

There is a seating area and drinks vending machine outside the reading room.

Your way to the Political Archive

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

User and staff member in the reading room

This is where you can find answers to frequently asked questions about using the Political Archive and selected information for specific user groups.

Praktische Hinweise

Bitte beachten Sie die Diashow am rechten Rand!

Am Tag des Archivbesuchs

Vor Ihrem Besuch sollten Sie sich über die Recherchemöglichkeiten im Archiv informiert haben.

Rechercheleitfäden

Anfrage an das Archiv

Sie finden den Lesesaal des Politischen Archivs im Dienstgebäude des Auswärtigen Amts in der Kurstraße 36.

Lageplan

Das Auswärtige Amt ist ein Sicherheitsbereich. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis für die notwendigen Maßnahmen. Gegen Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises oder Reisepasses wird Ihnen an der Pforte eine Besucherkarte ausgehändigt. Nach der Personenkontrolle folgen Sie den Wegweisern in Richtung Lesesaal. Garderobe, Taschen, Nahrungsmittel und Getränke dürfen nicht in den Lesesaal mitgebracht werden. Zur Aufbewahrung stehen direkt vor dem Saal abschließbare Schränke zu Ihrer Verfügung (Pfand: 1€- oder 2€-Münze).

Bei Verlust des Schließfachschlüssels müssen Benutzer für den entstehenden Schaden aufkommen.

Anmeldung und Lesesaal 

Im Lesesaal melden Sie sich bitte zunächst bei der Aufsicht und füllen ein Antragsformular für Ihren Besuch aus. Über die Benutzung der Findmittel orientieren Sie unsere Rechercheleitfäden. Bei weiterführenden Fragen hilft Ihnen gern die Lesesaalaufsicht. Bei komplexen Fragen vermittelt die Aufsicht gern ein Gespräch mit dem zuständigen Archivar.

Der Lesesaal verfügt über 27 Arbeitsplätze, davon ein Teil mit Lesegeräten für Mikrofiches. Für die Nutzung von Laptops sind Stromanschlüsse vorhanden. Ein WLAN-Zugang ist möglich.

Außerdem steht Ihnen im Lesesaal eine Handbibliothek zur Geschichte der deutschen Außenpolitik zur Verfügung. Sie umfasst vor allem Publikationen von Benutzern des Politischen Archivs, vom Auswärtigen Amt herausgegebene Editionen sowie Nachschlagewerke.

Archivalienbestellung

Für die Bestellung von Archivalien steht Ihnen ein elektronisches Bestellsystem zur Verfügung, für dessen Benutzung Sie die Aufsicht anmeldet. Sie können pro Tag je zehn Akten und Mikrofiches bestellen, wobei sich aus der Beschaffenheit der Archivalien Einschränkungen ergeben können.

Bestellte Archivalien werden von Montag bis Donnerstag um 10 Uhr und um 14 Uhr, am Freitag um 10 Uhr und um 13 Uhr ausgehoben und stehen jeweils ca. eine halbe Stunde später für Sie bereit. Alle Archivalien dürfen nur im Lesesaal des Politischen Archivs eingesehen werden, eine Ausleihe ist nicht möglich.

Aufnahmen von Archivalien dürfen Sie mit einer mitgebrachten Kamera ohne Blitzlicht und störende Geräusche im Lesesaal selbst anfertigen. Die Benutzung von Spiegelreflexkameras und mitgebrachten Scannern ist nicht erlaubt.

Umgang mit Archivalien

Jedes Archivale ist unersetzbar und muss mit größter Vorsicht behandelt werden. Daher haben Sie dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass keine Schriftstücke beschmutzt, beschrieben, Teile entfernt oder lose Blätter in ihrer Reihenfolge verändert werden. Hilfsmittel wie Bleischlangen und Keilkissen zum sachgemäßen Umgang mit den Archivalien erhalten Sie bei der Lesesaalaufsicht.

Bitte beachten Sie die Benutzungsordnung und befolgen Sie die Anweisungen der Aufsicht. Insbesondere Essen, Trinken, laute Unterhaltungen und das Telefonieren sind untersagt. Verstöße können zum Ausschluss von der Benutzung führen.

Für Pausen stehen vor dem Lesesaal ein Aufenthaltsbereich sowie ein Getränkeautomat zur Verfügung.

Ihr Weg ins Politische Archiv

Häufig gefragt (FAQ)

Anmeldung und Archivalienausgabe am Tresen

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zur Benutzung des Politischen Archivs und gezielte Informationen für bestimmte Benutzergruppen erhalten Sie hier.